Nummular Keratitis on my right eye

During the final leg of our US trip, my right eye got infected which I suspect was from Darrius since he was the first victim. He has recovered by the time we left LA. Though it was not supposed to be contagious, the rest of us got it… including Glennedine. Luckily hers was pretty mild and was fine after a few days. It took me almost 2 weeks and after 2 trips to the GP before my eye was back to normal… so I thought!

However, since then I started to sense that my right eye has developed blurred vision. I did not think too much about it earlier. Sometime last week, I happened to pull out my glasses and tested my vision and discovered that it was blur either I have it on or off and I had my prescription glasses done only last year. Normally it will not be that drastic.

So, I decided to go to the opthamologist and not the optometrist yesterday since PiggyBeng was working from home so he can take care of the kids. The moment the doc scanned my eye, he told me I have ‘NUMMULAR KERATITIS‘ which is affecting my cornea. *YIKES!!!* The blurred vision was caused by all the tiny spots on my cornea…making lots of speckles! What I got from the net was, herpes to the eyes! How disgusting is that???!!! 😦

.

.

Though it is not something very serious (for now) but if not treated it will cause blindness. The doc scolded me for not going to him earlier! He prescribed some steroid eye drops (Efemoline, a controlled drug) for me and summoned me to go back after 3 weeks to see if there’s any improvement.

Never in my wildest dream that the eye infection could cause something so dangerous. Upon reaching home, I tried to search for more info and discovered that this condition is rather rare. Not everyone who has an eye infection will get it… just that I am the unlucky one! Now my worries are that the kids’ eyes are fine since they don’t know how to tell or describe. I am definitely going to bring them to check their eyes too!

About Angeleyes

Daily bites of a full time mom searching for a space to rediscover her potentials in her roles as a mom, wife and an entrepreneur.
This entry was posted in Alamak!, Health. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Nummular Keratitis on my right eye

  1. chanelwong says:

    hope you are much better now…

  2. gosh that is scary. hope your eye will be back to normal soon.

  3. Kit says:

    Luckily you got it checked in time!

  4. etceteramommy says:

    Better bring the kids for a check too. Sounded a really nasty eye infection.

  5. a-moms-diary says:

    Never heard of this before. Good thing you got it checked.

Leave a Reply

