Lets get the Bugs Out!

We have been buying the Special AAA Fragrant Rice (a variety of brands) for the past 2 years and each time when we reaches half the pack (usually we buy the 10kg pack) we will start seeing those bugs or commonly known as weevil partying in there! I can’t really ascertain how long we take to finish a pack of 10kg rice… probably around 2 to 3 months depending on if we go for holidays in between so it could be longer sometimes.

PiggyBeng had gathered that, those rice packs on sale in most supermarkets/hypermarkets are usually neared their expiry dates and thus bugs will grow when we are still in the midst of consuming them. However, these AAA rice are not cheap either. Normally we paid at least RM40 and above for a 10kg pack.

Just a week before we left for our US trip, I was forced to open another 10kg pack as we have ran out and we are still eating the same pack till today. We have been eating out a lot too and was away a few times during this period.

To my horror, the amount of bugs growing in my pack of rice almost doubled or tripled than normal! Eeeks!

Remembered I saw something being sold in Daiso which helps to remove these bugs, I went to get a pack…

.

.

I bought the red pepper scent as the others were not available on that day. They have garlic and horseradish scent in the line.

When I got home, I quickly put it into my rice keeper and the effect was almost immediate!

.

.

Those buggies kept crawling out from under the rice pile and in within 5 minutes I have caught about 10 on top of the pile of rice.

.

.

I waited for another 10 minutes and many of the buggies has started to crawl out of the bag too… which is really amazing! I caught most of them and killed them by flushing them out at the sink! 😛

It has been a week now and I hardly see these buggies crawling about in my packet of rice and I found a few were dead under the plastic too.

Too bad this packet of thing can only last 3 months and that means, I’ll have to get a packet each time I open up a new pack of rice!

About Angeleyes

Daily bites of a full time mom searching for a space to rediscover her potentials in her roles as a mom, wife and an entrepreneur.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Juz Rambling. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Lets get the Bugs Out!

  1. Mamapumpkin says:

    Wow, that’s impressive. I must go Daiso to check it out. Thanks for sharing!

  2. Ponytail says:

    I am using the garlic scent one and it is very effective. It works even when I did not replace it every 3 months cause I have forgotten :p

  3. Elaine says:

    Cool stuff..I should go hunt for one

  4. I used to have the same problem. Now I put some portion (which I will not use in a couple of months) in the fridge and it keeps them bugs-free.

Leave a Reply

