Syabu-syabu @ Tsurukame

There is a syabu-syabu (Japanese styled steamboat) restaurant at the newly renovated food court on the 3rd floor of Queensbay Mall (the cinema floor) but each time we passed by, we never thought of patronizing it since PiggyBeng is not a huge fan of steamboat meals.

Then, while shopping on new year eve recently, I decided to pop by and check the place out (that is how back-dated this post is!) since I don’t know what to eat for lunch and only have Baby G with me. I would not have done it if I have the two kids with me.

Subsequently, I went another 2 more times. Once was with my cousin when she came for a visit in mid January and another time I went with the entire RamblingMoo troop to celebrate PiggyBeng’s success in passing his test on Valentine’s Day. 😀

.

.

What is so special about this syabu-syabu place is that, it is served in buffet style instead of those that comes in sets. I just like the buffet, eat-all-you-can style! :mrgreen: At least I can have a choice of picking what I like to eat and omit or avoid eating things I don’t like. 🙂 The one thing I like most is the revolving belt (like Sushi King) that delivers plates of ingredients to all the tables in the restaurant. You don’t really need to leave your table except to get the drinks and some cooked food placed near the door.

.

.

.

On each table (normally sits 4 person) will have 2 hot pots on their table. There are about 4 types of soups to choose from – clear, kimchi, tom yam and salted vegetable. I kinda like the salted vegetable but it was a little too salty after cooking all the ingredients. Thus, the clear soup is highly recommended especially eating with kids.

.

.

As for the items that goes around on the belt, it differs all the time depending on the time of the day. For lunch, you don’t get certain stuff since the price for lunch and dinner is slightly different.

.

.

On both occasions which I went during lunch time, there were load of serves of fish maws… which happened to be my favorite! I have so much of it and my soup tasted so good at the end of the day!

For those who has good appetite, they can also feast themselves with some of the cooked food such as sushi, okonomiyaki (Japanese fried cabbage pancake) fried garlic rice, fried udon and etc…

.

.

.

To me, the star of the meal are these…

.

.

Itelyu, these ‘yakiniku’ or  sliced pork bellies are to die for!!!! They really melt in the mouth when cooked right in the hot pot! *drool* The best sauce to go with these are some shoyu (light soy sauce) + crushed cili padi (bird eyes chilies) + lemon juice. It sent me to Heaven right away! 😆

Even Baby G enjoyed herself on all three occasions though she made loads of mess and noises!!!

.

.

If you go alone, you can actually sit on their counter which overlooking the Penang Bridge from their tall glass windows.

.

.

Darrius enjoyed bringing all the plates down from the revolving belt but all he ate was the sausages and the quail eggs! *bang head on the wall* Luckily he can still eat for free then!

.

.

And on Valentine’s Day, which we went for their dinner we had these really huge bamboo clams…

.

.

Do I looked like some ‘sioa-char-bor’ (crazy woman) up there???? 😆

I don’t mind dining in Tsurukame again as I really like the ambiance of the place and the staff are all very friendly. Though the place is not too baby friendly as their table is placed on platform so you can’t pull the baby chair close to the table. Other than that, it is a nice place to dine since it air-conditioned.

For lunch, it is approximately RM30/pax and for dinner is about RM34/pax. Children below 105cm eat for free, else they have to pay about RM10/pax (if I remembered correctly).

About Angeleyes

Daily bites of a full time mom searching for a space to rediscover her potentials in her roles as a mom, wife and an entrepreneur.
This entry was posted in Around Penang, Makan Place Review, Makan Time!, sLurP!. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Syabu-syabu @ Tsurukame

  1. Angie says:

    Looks so yummy. We keep seeing that place but never actually walked in to try.

Leave a Reply

