My Sweet ’16’ Birthday

Great title? 😛 How I wish I am forever sweet 16 eh?!!!

This year my birthday fell on a Friday which is one of my favorite day. 😀 PiggyBeng works half day on Friday so it was a good day… no less. The day went on smoothly though there are still a few yelling sessions since I have 2 monkeys at home!

Initially we have no idea where we shall go for dinner since I am not expecting any grand celebration. To me (or to us) it is just another excuse to pig out only! 😆 So, in the afternoon, PiggyBeng asked what I would like to eat and I casually mention to have buffet. Checked a few places and at the end we decided to go for G-Hotel’s BBQ Seafood Buffet. We have seen the buffet each Friday whenever we are in Gurney Plaza and finally we went to try it!

Verdict? I must say it was pretty good! Not that the food was excellent but edible and quite value for money. In fact for the price it was much better compared to Equatorial Hotel which we went last year. Food was so-so and Baby G kicked up a big fuss so we did not enjoy the dinner at all. That was why I hardly snap any photos to blog about it! 😛

This year was slightly better since Baby G is already 14-month old. She can self feed so we managed to keep her quiet by giving her food which kept her busy for a while.

And here, a look at their spread…

Their dessert counter is one of the best… I always got attracted by all those colorful glasses of jello or whats not displayed up there…

.

.

The fresh food counter is also another popular venue since one can have unlimited serve of fresh oysters and salmon sashimi…

.

.

The fresh fruits counter is a hit with kids since they have all kind of fruits on skewers ready to go through the chocolate fountain at the end of the table…

.

.

Are these macaroons??? I have no idea since I don’t have any space to try them!!!

.

.

These are coconut tarts which I did not get to try too as I was having just too much… next time perhaps!

.

.

My personal favorite on their dessert counter that night was this berry cheesecake…

.

.

Baby G was making fusses too but we are lucky she was still eating so we just fed her to keep her busy! She too likes the berry cheesecake which she finished half of it!

.

.

Darrius was having loads of fun as he can now walk about checking all the food counters out! PiggyBeng filled Darrius’s plate with food but he only ate 20% from there! The 80% he was gallivanting around the chocolate fountain having endless skewers of strawberries and other fruit sticks!

.

.

We have to go to the al-fresco area to collect the BBQ stuff. There were salmon, XXL prawns, cat fish, squid rings as well as cray fish which the hotel staff referred as ‘lobsters’!

.

.

And here is my 1st plate of the many plates from the BBQ counter…

.

.

My plate from the fresh food counter…

.

.

I dare not take too much fresh oysters and the salmon sashimi though I was dying to. I am still breastfeeding Baby G so it was not advisable to have to much of those.

Therefore, I decided to have more of the ‘lobsters’ which was extremely popular among the other diners…

.

.

The BBQ crayfish tasted damn good with the assam jawa (tamarind) sauce. The spicy and sourish taste made one feel so hungry! I am salivating when I am typing this!!!! 😛

Before I decided to call it a day, I die-die must try this particular jello+custard with that berry on top. Not sure what was the name but it sure tasted really yummy!

.

.

The night went on smoothly until I discovered this…

.

.

Now you know why Baby G was nicked name Samseng Girl??? She chewed off the straw even the bottle is less than 3 months old!!!! We can’t leave her with things else she will destroy them in seconds!!!

I did not bake any cake for myself and PiggyBeng did not buy any either. Instead, he went to ask the hotel staff if he can get me a complimentary cake…

.

.

Good food, good company… great time!

Though I am another year older, it was a true blessing to have my 3 babies with me to celebrate the day together.

And here is the so-called ‘pressie’ from my room-mate…

.

.

And that wraps up my birthday for 2011!

About Angeleyes

Daily bites of a full time mom searching for a space to rediscover her potentials in her roles as a mom, wife and an entrepreneur.
This entry was posted in Celebration, Events, Family, Food Review, Makan Place Review, Makan Time!, sLurP!. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to My Sweet ’16’ Birthday

  1. Etceteramommy says:

    Baby G is getting prettier and prettier. Must be from the mummy’s gene.

    Happy Belated Birthday. Nice bray pressie you have there!

  2. Yeapies says:

    All I could say is that the spread we had was far off behind what you had le. And it costs more for dinners. argh! Wonder why their standard “imbalance” one. 😦

    Btw, not 16 d but still sweet lar. 😀

  3. chinnee says:

    wah….fresh oysters!!! havent been feasting on it for many years already!

  4. Paik LIng says:

    Happy belated birthday hot mama!!! Sorry missing your trip this weekend else I will give you a birthday treat! Swanky pressie from your roomie 🙂

  5. Angie says:

    Happy Belated Birthday. The buffet looks yummy.

  6. Chew Lee says:

    I am drooling as I read this post… I miss all those food…

    Happy belated birthday, Alice… and nice pressie from your room mate

  7. Oooh…..the food looks super delicious. I’m sooo drooling over the salmon and cheese cake. And hey, PB got you an iPad. No more kiam siaplah. Very very generous, I would say 😉 Happy Belated Birthday to you.

Leave a Reply

