Huge Disappointment with Chicago Rib House

This is another backdated post!

Remember when I first blogged about our very 1st experience at Chicago Rib House in Gurney Plaza on this year’s Father’s Day? We were all happy with their food and service though they were not excellent.

Because of that reason, we decided to return the following week just for their ribs! You must have thought that we are nuts to eat at the same place for 2 consecutive weeks but we did as there aren’t much eating places that attracts us around that area. It is either Chilis or Chicago.

So, after the movie we had our dinner there. We ordered a burger and a full rack of pork ribs this round thinking that we can share among the 3 of us. The first time it took about 15 minutes for our orders to come but this round it took more than 30 minutes! The restaurant was not full (about 4 tables) at all with most of the diners half way through their meals.

I think we asked the waiters at least 3 times for our orders but none came back to tell us when they will be served! At that time (Friday at 5pm) is not a peak period either. There were at least 5 to 6 waitresses either walking about or congregate at one corner chit-chatting. About what, I don’t have any idea!

Finally at almost 40 minutes, our orders came. And when I look at that plate of FULL rack of pork ribs I have a shocked!

.

.

If you compare the plate of FULL rack above with the half rack I had the previous week, you can see the huge difference and will also wonder why one would want to pay an extra RM15++ for it! I felt short changed!!!I was baffled by the size. If I have known, we will just order the half rack. Seriously… don’t they have some kind of STANDARD for their food? I’m sure the hogs/pigs are being reared till a standard size before they are slaugthered.

So, I decided to count the amount of bones/ribs in that full rack. There were 8 in total. I thought a full rack has 12 sticks of bones so I decided to make a check on Wikipedia. Then I view back the ribs we had in Cafe Cartel in Singapore. I found they have better standard control as their plate of full rack of ribs are of about the same size even at different outlets. Oh yeah, I forgot to add that it was so burnt that not much meat left on the ribs!

Then came our burger… Well, it does not make me feel any better! For almost the same price we paid for burgers at Chilis, we got this…

.

.

It was the least appetising and most pathetic burger I’ve ever seen! And mind you, this was supposed to be a gourmet burger! If this one from McD, I won’t have anything to say. Even that slice of lettuce looked so limp! 😦

And the taste? It tasted weird!

Will we go back again? I don’t know… probably some day. For now, I think we will go back to Chilis. No more pork ribs outside but luckily I have my own chef at home who can do better ribs than Chicago! And yes, it is cheaper too!! πŸ˜€

About Angeleyes

Daily bites of a full time mom searching for a space to rediscover her potentials in her roles as a mom, wife and an entrepreneur.
This entry was posted in Around Penang, Makan Place Review, Rants, Weekends. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Huge Disappointment with Chicago Rib House

  1. michelle says:

    Maybe beef price went up after a week πŸ™‚ Does kids eat for free there? If not, Chillis would be a better choice.

    • Angeleyes says:

      It was pork ribs not beef.
      Kids only eat for free from Mon-Wed which is another child-unfriendly place.

  2. Yeapies says:

    Yea, our long anticipated 1st visit was quite a set-back too. I think they are a bit over-ratted by some bloggers….

    • Angeleyes says:

      Ooo… you finally went!
      Ok, the bloggers’ reviews all they ‘set-up’ one mah coz some are ‘invited’ mia…
      They knew there will be a write up so they served the best of course
      but when small fry reviewers like us is another stories! We actually are the
      ‘real’ reviewers!!!!

  3. Bulbir says:

    Thank you for your post. The pictures are really,really sad and it is a wonder why anybody would want to spend money on that quality of food. My family and I will avoid that place from now onwards.

    • Angeleyes says:

      You are most welcome!
      They better buck up else they will have to suffer the same fate
      they sufferred in Auto City!

  4. Bryce Matthews says:

    I AGREE TO EVERYTHING YOU SAID
    THIS PLACE SUCKS
    I AM A PORK LOVER
    BUT AFTER EATING AT THIS RESTAURANT
    I HATE PORK
    THEY DO NOT HOW TO COOK PORK RIBS
    AND THEY CALL THEMSELVES THE BEST WHEN IT COMES TO PORK RIBS AND STEAK
    MY MUM HAD THEIR STEAK AND SHE HAD FOOD POISOINING THE THE OTHER DAY
    TO ANYONE READING THIS, PLEASE NEVER EVEN GO NEAR THIS PLACE

    • Angeleyes says:

      Yeah, it was really sucks that they over hyped this place.
      They are far from what they claimed to be!

Leave a Reply

