On a writing spree

Knowing that I am such a lazy mommy, I must confess that I seldom spend much one-to-one time with Darrius except for the normal stuff like feeding him and bathing him (I hardly read to him these days). Most of the time he will be on his own either playing by himself or watching his DVDs while I busied myself with my blogging work. :mrgreen: Ok, I am feeling guilty… ๐Ÿ˜›

Anyhow, this little monster of mine is quite independent now. Beside knowing how to talk back to me, he can do a host of stuff all by himself. I give credit to all the DVDs and VCDs he watches. Honestly, I find that kids can learn a whole lot if we know how to qualify good and positive quality educational programs to be used as a learning tool.

I swear I hardly teach him how to write, I only taught him how to hold a pencil! And yet he can give me something like these…

.

write1.JPG

.

write2.JPG

.

The above activity book was given by Constance last week and the next day I found all the scribbles in the book. I was quite amazed! His writing ability has definitely surpass my expectation! It never cross my mind that he can write so well! Well, for someone his age and one who has never attended school before… I only bought one link-the-dot book for him a few months back but he only drew circles in that book but never do any writing in it so i was very surprise with the discovery.

Since there are limited boxes he can write in that activity book, I decided to get him an exercise book last weekend when we were in Popular. Once we reached home, he wrote all these…

.

write3.JPG

.

The strokes are not perfect but the characters are very clear! He knows his ABC very well so he can recognize them even if I ask him randomly and able to answer me without much thinking.

Remember that few Sesame Street VCDs that I bought for him earlier? I think these are some of the best investment I’ve made thus far! They really helps Darrius learn with ease!

About Angeleyes

Daily bites of a full time mom searching for a space to rediscover her potentials in her roles as a mom, wife and an entrepreneur.
This entry was posted in Juz Darrius, Milestone. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to On a writing spree

  1. jasmine says:

    well done darrius!

    alice, am also like you sometimes, and after that i feel guilty about it. i mean, i only spend wkends with shan leo and yet i let him play by himself or watch tv on his own while i log myself in front of my notebook ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

    jasmines last blog post..Shan Rae @ 11 Months

  2. miche says:

    he is so good! self-taught. kinda rare to find this in boys eh. you are a very smart boy there. ๐Ÿ˜‰ maybe you should teach him decorate ur cupcakes next. ๐Ÿ™‚

    miches last blog post..Husband in Labor Room

  3. And dun worry, most mommies are guilty of encouraging tv, so that we have time to do our own thing. Err…most i know anyway…

  4. wen says:

    very good wor….

  5. lemonjude says:

    Wow, such a good writing from him…

    Sometime they did learn too when watching tv…i never ban that on him whenever he wants…

    lemonjudes last blog post..A Mei Star Tour Live in Malaysia 2009

  6. Angeline says:

    *clap clap clap*
    very very impressive!!!

    Angelines last blog post..Girls Home Again

  7. mumsgather says:

    Thats really good. Good for you both. Hehe.

    mumsgathers last blog post..I canโ€™t stop buying books

  8. KIttyCat says:

    Hao bang, Darrius! ๐Ÿ™‚

    When he said “ball” so clearly at my apartment when he was only 14 months old, I knew he has exceptional linguistic skills. Do you fancy raising an English major ๐Ÿ˜‰ ;-)?

    You’re so hardworking with Darrius – I have not started any workbooks with Lucas ler ๐Ÿ˜›

    KIttyCats last blog post..Thank you for the presents!

  9. good job darrius. he writes better than ashley ๐Ÿ˜€

    mommy to chumsys last blog post..If you love steamboatโ€ฆ.

  10. michelle says:

    He can write pretty well.

  11. chooi peng says:

    he is doing so well ah!!!

  12. whoisbaby says:

    This boy so smart! sure surprise your mommy in your own little way. ๐Ÿ™‚

    *i wrote a comment earlier but i don’t know if it was at the correct post.

    whoisbabys last blog post..How I wish we donโ€™t have to eat

  13. That’s very impressive indeed. You have one smart boy there.

    Immomsdaughters last blog post..Too Friendly

  14. a-moms-diary says:

    That’s really clever of Darrius…self taught with the exercise books. Way to go, boy…

Leave a Reply

