Yummy mulberries

When I was a kid and living in Tanjung Tualang, I used to play around the big compound beside and behind my grandma’s house. I was very fortunate as in those days we are free to run about playing outside the house unlike now, most of the kids are being confined at home.

Behind my grandma’s house there used to be a badminton court and surrounded by a mini jungle of sort (more like an unused land) and there grew a lot of trees and plants. One of those that are jaunting out are some mulberry trees. Not sure if you have seen one before (they looked a little like caterpillars) but Itelyu, these berries are soooooo crunchy and yummy especially when you pluck them off from the branches and eat them fresh!

Last year, PiggyBeng’s uncle gave my mom a pot after she saw it in his home and asked if she can have a small plant. In the last few months, mom managed to grow that small plant into a huge plant now and even have some babies in a few other pots. The last time we were back in KL, there wasn’t any berries growing but we were in luck this time!

.

mulberries.JPG

.

Most of the berries were ripe during our stay and we get to savor these berries fresh! They were a little sour and will leave a tangy after taste. Darrius was reluctant to eat when I first offered it to him but after his first try, he will wallop all every time my mom brought them in!

Currently mom is trying to grow grapes too. I hope the grape plant will survive so we will get to taste some home grown grapes someday! Now I am wondering if I could get some fig trees and let mom try to grow them. πŸ˜›

About Angeleyes

Daily bites of a full time mom searching for a space to rediscover her potentials in her roles as a mom, wife and an entrepreneur.
This entry was posted in Blogging, Family, PJT-A. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Yummy mulberries

  1. sting says:

    oh I remember these when I was a kid… kinda difficult to find them these days… πŸ™‚ all the best on the grapes.. my friend planted some (the green type) and it was quite small and a bit sourish.. hope your mum has better luck πŸ™‚

    stings last blog post..Valentine Blues

  2. Angeline says:

    this is the first time I’m seeing this…. sooooo tiny!!!!

    Angelines last blog post..Just Say It (con’t)

  3. M’sia also got wild berries ah….wow…

  4. Hijackqueen says:

    Get your mom to grow grape tree. Must water with lots and lots of water so that they will be sweet.

    Hijackqueens last blog post..Done Busy with Scrapbook

  5. KIttyCat says:

    Ooh…I love these mulberries! One of my Mum’s neighbours had the trees too and we’d go and pluck, pluck, pluck them off in the evening πŸ™‚

    Mmm…enjoy!!!

    KIttyCats last blog post..One, Two or Three?

Leave a Reply

