The Birthday Celebrations

We celebrated Darrius’s birthday a week early since his actual birthday falls on a Friday. It was my nephew’s birthday that day too and since we can’t be in KL, we decided to do it on the same day since everyone is free on that Sunday.

I was so silly to have forgotten to make the reservation for the event that I decided to call them up atΒ  almost the night before 12am! :mrgreen: Coincidentally they were having full house last Sunday so I have to beg and beg to get them to hold a table for me…. πŸ˜› And the staff on the night shift was so kind to make my reservation for me so we can have the Sunday Buffet Brunch @ Coffee Garden, Equatorial Penang! πŸ˜›

Since I was coughing and dealing with a few last minutes cupcakes orders that week, it left me with no time for Darrius’s cake… so I only started the project close to midnight the night before! I spent almost 6 hours (I stopped at 5am and woke up at 8am to continue!) and used a lot of short cuts! :mrgreen:

And here is the cake (For those who is in my FB should have seen it) …

.

cake5.JPG

Thomas & Percy on Tropical Island

.

I played cheat this time… I did not mold the trains (Thomas & Percy) as I wanted to get Darrius the toys so he can play them after the candle blowing session. And I did not managed to get fir trees for the backdrop so I have to make do with coconut trees!!!

.

bday7.JPG

Β .

Overall, we had a great time and Darrius enjoyed himself tremendously. According to PiggyBeng, he even wanted to take off his shirt and jump into the pool outside the restaurant when PiggyBeng brought him out for a walk while waiting for the rest of our guests to turn up!

He kept asking for his cake the entire time we were eating so guess what is his reaction when he saw the cake? He was so excited that he wanted to dig into one of the train carriage that contained some chocolate balls! Then when he saw the knife, he wanted to cut the cake! I have to keep his hands on his side all the time before he blew the candle…

After the candle blowing I quickly gave him the trains and that kept him busy for a while so we adults can get to chat in peace… πŸ˜›

We did not cut the cake as we are totally stuffed up to our throat from the buffet line. I brought the cake back and we has another candle blowing session with one of PiggyBeng’s aunt and her family. Of course Darrius was happy to do it again!

Then on the actual day (yesterday) we went out again with FIL as he can’t join us last weekend since he has just been discharged from the hospital. This time I did not bake any cake but got another cake for him. And of course Darrius was happy to do it for the 3rd time! πŸ™‚

Just like last year, Darrius get to celebrate 3 times in total… kids these day are so lucky hor?!!!

About Angeleyes

Daily bites of a full time mom searching for a space to rediscover her potentials in her roles as a mom, wife and an entrepreneur.
This entry was posted in Around Penang, Blogging, Celebration, Events, Family, Juz Darrius, Weekends. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to The Birthday Celebrations

  1. whoisbaby says:

    wah three candle blowing sessions … of course little darrius is the happiest kid for his birthday. πŸ™‚ happy birthday again darrius.

  2. jasmine says:

    very, very nice cake!!

    jasmines last blog post..Lazy Shan Rae & His Teether

  3. vivianz says:

    ah… very nice cake.

    Happy birthday in advance, Darrius!

    vivianzs last blog post..No more spending..

  4. Paik Ling says:

    Wow 3 birthday cakes!! Bet he liked mummy’s best!

    Paik Lings last blog post..Strange Sunday Evening

  5. rachel says:

    Happy Birthday Darrius once again…

  6. happy belated birthday darrius boy!!!

    alice, you have baked such a nice cake for him πŸ™‚

    mommy to chumsys last blog post..The Underwear

  7. Marie says:

    Happy Belated Bird-day Darrius boy. Angeleyes…ur really put a lot of effort on Darrius cake. Darrius must be really proud of u.

    Maries last blog post..Star Of Tomorrow Showcase @ 1Borneo

  8. khongfamily says:

    Happy Belated Birthday, Darrius!! Such a nice cake, I feel so ‘sam tong’ to eat them.

  9. sting says:

    happy belated birthday Darrius! that’s a lovely cake you made… ahhh, Darrius so lucky πŸ™‚

    stings last blog post..Child-Proofing

  10. mumsgather says:

    Wow. You really put a lot of effort into the cake. It so beautiful! Puts me to shame. All I know how to do is go to the cake shop and order. Haha.

    mumsgathers last blog post..Funny Gifts from the spouse

  11. constance says:

    yaya i saw the pretty cake.. lucky my girl didn’t see the cake on the pc… or she would have said why mummy gave her a cake so plain one… hehehe

    constances last blog post..If I Could Live in the Library…

  12. chooi peng says:

    happy birthday…. and the cake really nice!

  13. mummy moon says:

    Happy belated birthday to your boy boy… I like the cake you bake… Very Very creative and very nice…

    mummy moons last blog post..Heng Heng at 10 months old

  14. Angie says:

    Happy Belated Birthday to Darrius. The cake looks amazing. And lucky boy… 3 cakes!

  15. I knew the cake was gonna look fabulous and I was right! If only I stayed in Penang.

    I’m sure mommy’s happy Darrius was so excited about the cake. Makes all the effort worth it πŸ™‚

    Immomsdaughters last blog post..Horrors of Head Lice

  16. 3lilangels says:

    That is a beautiful cake…….. it was worth it to sacrifice your sleep to see Darrius so excited.

    Happy Birthday again, Darrius. What a wonderful mum you have.

  17. Lovelymummy says:

    wow, very nice cake, i bet my kid also like it very much. because of the thomas train.lol

    Lovelymummys last blog post..Bento Fun #14

  18. Annie Q says:

    Happy birthday Darrius! Beautiful cake! Darrius such a lucky boy. πŸ™‚

    Annie Qs last blog post..Last friday………..

  19. KittyCat says:

    Nice birthday cake! Cute birthday boy! Pretty Mummy!

    I respect you for doing all that πŸ˜›

    I’m gonna have a BIG headache as we’ll be celebrating his birthday in Kuching. Dunno any birthday cake or cupcake makers there…

    KittyCats last blog post..Sick of the Change of Seasons