Bento Fun #46

This time my coughing ordeal is yet one of the worst I’ve ever had. Even after I have completed the first course of antibiotic, instead of feeling better I felt worst! I still get thick greenish phlegm and my throat itch the entire night! I have been coughing non stop the past few nights and the cough syrup made me so groggy and drowsy that I don’t even have the interest to sit in front of the PC! Not to mention I leak every time I cough! *bleah~*

I have been wanting to do more Bento after we return from KL but with me coughing like a dying TB patient, I totally lost the mood to cook. Luckily PiggyBeng was not too fussy over his meals so I only do simple steam stuff the last few days.

This was actually Monday’s Bento for Darrius before I went to the GP… yeah, at least some varieties in the box. It has been a long time since I cook baked beans and it was a nice change but too bad Darrius don’t like it! He used to like it when we eat out at those cheap American Breakfast selling at the hawker! Kids are weird!

I managed to get some fresh quail eggs from the afternoon market behind our house only at RM1.60 for 10. They are much bigger in size as compared to the ones I bought from Jusco @ RM2.80 for 16 (I think). However, I still find that the yolk is not as yellow as those I saw on the Japanese books or sites. Anyhow, my mom advised me to not give too much of quail eggs to Darrius since it has high cholestrol content…. but they are just too cute in Bento!

.

funinabox-46.JPG

Steamed Kurau fish cubes with tomato and Chinese mushroon slices, Baked beans cooked with egg flowers, boiled quail eggs sitting on a bed of stir-fried minced pork and rice with blanched brocolli

.

I bought a few face cutters when I was in KL and I tried them on the quail eggs. Pretty small but they looked kinda cute, don’t they??? :mrgreen: I think I will still have to look for the bigger ones… when Darrius starts to take rice balls (he still don’t fancy rice balls or onigiri at the moment).

Ok, guess that’s all for now on Bento… hope that give you some ideas for your next meal! Happy Bento-ing and TGIF! 🙂

About Angeleyes

Daily bites of a full time mom searching for a space to rediscover her potentials in her roles as a mom, wife and an entrepreneur.
This entry was posted in @ Moo's Kitchen, Bento Frenzy, Fun in a Box. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Bento Fun #46

  1. hi, feel better today? no? perhaps u shld try double boiling pear or orange…. it works for me. take care.

  2. ck lam says:

    The nutritious homemade bento …very creative with the quail eggs. It gives me an idea making my own bento.

    Btw…your blog is very interesting and I also hope you will be better in the coming days.

  3. laundryamah says:

    ayoo cough cough still hv mood to make bento..really salute! take care la wei!

    psst i tried using the quail egg mold n the egg was a bit too big till it squeezed the sides out..so ugly…

    laundryamahs last blog post..RIP my dear Tai Yee..

  4. KittyCat says:

    Wei…try that King To Nim Jiom Pei Pa Koa. It works wonders!

    KittyCats last blog post..Celebrating Halloween in China

  5. Angeline says:

    unbelievable talent girl! how could you make something so cute in that state of health?! green phelgm = infection…. go see doctor again if it doesn’t get better after 3 days…

    Angelines last blog post..Hay Dairies Goat Farm

  6. whoisbaby says:

    ya lar, the face cutters are very cute. where in KL did you get it from?

    whoisbabys last blog post..San Francisco – Day 2 Part 2

  7. wen says:

    dont eat rice ball nevermind but at least he eats all of others that u hv made him!

  8. Yes, hee heee..those quail chickens are just so cute !! Sure liven up the bento. I have yet to get those foodpicks and too lazy to cut out carrot tops yet

    allthingspurples last blog post..Bento #97

  9. 3lilangels says:

    Love the quail chicken. You’re still so creative despite being so sick. Take care.

    3lilangelss last blog post..Backdated post – What Hubby Bought in USA

  10. sting says:

    those quail eggs looked so cute… 🙂

    hope you are feeling better now.. whenever I have cough, I usually make lime and honey drink. Just squeeze some lime and a few spoonful of honey (to taste actually) and store in fridge… whenever you want to drink, just dilute with water. it helps for us… that we do not need to take cough syrup and antibiotics.. take care

    stings last blog post..Upgrading… Or Was It Downgrading?!

  11. christine says:

    i’ve finally got the time to comment on your blog. reason being, someone lend us a laptop for the time being and i could go online anywhere in my house. if only i could read your blog from my workplace. sigh….

    your bento looks really creative and cute. i wonder i’ll have the time to do that for my little one when he’s older. we’ll have to wait and see.

  12. Paik Ling says:

    Sigh each time I see your lovely bento, I feel like a lousy mum haha. no wonder Bryan losing interest with his food these days cos mummy never use the bento kits that she bought.