Changes

Very soon Darrius will turn 3 and I am still very sad to say he stick to me like super glue. Even when I am in the kitchen cooking (while he is busy watching his TV) he will come every few minutes to check on me and see what I’m doing. He will call out to me and asked me loads of questions… if I answer, he will ask more so after a few questions I’ll usually keep quiet or threaten him that if he continues, there would be no food for him. Then he will guai-guai (obediently) go out and continue watching his show.

Some of you may remember that about the same time last year, we tried to train Darrius to sleep without me (though we are still sleeping in the same room). To be honest, we are still trying and very sad to announce that instead of getting better it got worst! Now he refused to sleep if I’m not in the room and as he is tall enough to open the door by himself, he will come out to look for me. So, he will open-close, open-close the door which will in the end angered his daddy.

Even with me in the room, the moment we switched off the light he will starts to cry and insist that we switch it on again. Imagine if PiggyBeng switched off the light and I’m not in the room… Yeah, he will cry so loud that as if he was being abused. And even if we managed to kept the light switched off, he will starts to climb up and down to and from our bed to his. Again, we have to threaten to throw his mattress away then he will crawl back to his matress. He has been unconciously creeping up to my side a few weeks back since he first started sleeping on his own matress.

Then, a couples  of night ago, PiggyBeng thought that enough is enough. He then went on and switch side with me. Now, instead of me sleeping next to Darrius, PiggyBeng is there. Of course Darrius was not happy about the change. He insisted that I go back to ‘my’ side as he don’t want daddy to sleep with him. Again, he will cry a river every night… *sigh*

According to PiggyBeng (well, through his observation lah) that Darrius hates changes. He likes things as it is and if we make changes to it he will rebel or kick up a fuss. Knowing that mommy will always give in to him, he will ‘works’ on mommy instead of daddy.

Since we do not have our own house yet, there isn’t any extra room to train him to sleep on his own. Hopefully with the soft economy, the prices of houses will drop and make it more affordable for us to own our own roof. I am really tired of these kind of training that don’t seems to end! 😦

About Angeleyes

Daily bites of a full time mom searching for a space to rediscover her potentials in her roles as a mom, wife and an entrepreneur.
This entry was posted in Juz Darrius, Milestone. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Changes

  1. jasmine says:

    since u spend d most time with darrius, i believe he thot you no longer loves him when u start to tell him that he should do things differently or without mummy??? no matter what, you have to do things gradually…a tiny little step at a time!

    jasmines last blog post..Day 10th of Chickenpox Attack

  2. shoppingmum says:

    I wanted to train my gal to sleep without me too, but it failed. Same goes to our boy who comes to our room after midnight looking for daddy to go to the kids room. Frankly, I gave up and let them train themselves when they are ready. It’s less stressful and frustrated for all of us.

    shoppingmums last blog post..Bento Blog

  3. wen says:

    maybe if u r quite persistent and later on he will get used to it leh..

  4. Charming says:

    I find persistence is the key. Keep telling the children the same message and they will eventually get it. It’s stressful and tiring and you want to give up, but don’t. I use to just keep thinking of the long term benefits. It’s like toilet training, but it is worth it. Most importantly, keep assuring them that you still love them.

  5. Angeline says:

    I’m the extreme mommy…

    I go with the flow…to me, its better for my child to stick to me than bo-hiew me…

    cos’ one day, maybe in primary school, when friends become more important and their man-pride starts to kick in… that time, even if you tie a rope around them and pull them close, they would not even want to sleep beside you, cos that’s just not ‘man’ enough!

    *laugh*

    Angelines last blog post..Singapore Zoological Gardens

  6. Shooi says:

    WHen i had just Bryan, i was kinda pressured to do this and that.. trained him to sleep in his own room, own mattress, gotta train him to sleep without nen-nen, etc etc.

    Now with D, i just din care less. So what if i am his pacifier thru the night. So what if he needs me to be next to him to sleep.

    They grow up so fast and soon they won’t need me around so much anymore. Why bother and stress over it?

    For eg, Bryan used to need hugs, cuddling, neverending lullabies & stories to go to sleep. I use to feel stress just to think of how to cut these out. But now when i ask him to sleep, he will just roll around to a comfy spot & sleep. He is already needing me less and less….

    Shoois last blog post..Formula milk – This or that

  7. LiL'deviL says:

    Ethan is still sleeping in a cot next to our bed. When he falls asleep he tends to roll all over and eventually onto our bed. Normally I will put him back onto his bed before I go to sleep. Eddie on the other hand always want to leave him be. He says “enjoy it while it lasts”.

    LiL’deviLs last blog post..A night at PNB Darby Park

  8. Binky says:

    Okay, I thought I am the only one with the same problem! My Ian didn’t want to sleep in the crib when he just turned 13-14 months. And around that time, we made a trip to San Francisco and we stayed in a hotel room with 2 queen beds. So naturally, I slept with Ian on one of the beds, and from there, he got so used to it that he wants me to sleep with him from then on. My case isn’t that bad because Ian could still tolerate sleeping alone in the afternoon as long as I stay with him until he falls asleep. And he is always happy to go to bed after a long period of running around and exercise!

    Yeah, generally kids don’t like changes because they want to stay safe with current circumstances that they are comfortable in. Do you give Darrius a security blanket or soft toy that he can feel comfortable holding when he goes to sleep? I think that is a good idea/way to calm them down.

    Binkys last blog post..Fall gardening

  9. Binky says:

    Okay, I thought I am the only one with the same problem! My Ian didn’t want to sleep in the crib when he just turned 13-14 months. And around that time, we made a trip to San Francisco and we stayed in a hotel room with 2 queen beds. So naturally, I slept with Ian on one of the beds, and from there, he got so used to it that he wants me to sleep with him from then on. My case isn’t that bad because Ian could still tolerate sleeping alone in the afternoon as long as I stay with him until he falls asleep. And he is always happy to go to bed after a long period of running around and exercise!

    Yeah, generally kids don’t like changes because they want to stay safe with current circumstances that they are comfortable in. Do you give Darrius a security blanket or soft toy that he can feel comfortable holding when he goes to sleep? I think that is a good idea/way to calm them down.

  10. sigh…the sleeping part is so like ashley. i did try to let her sleep with daddy but she won’t go to sleep and would cry for me. i guess…when she’s older and want her privacy, she’ll sleep in her own room. that is when she’s 12 i believe…wawawawawawwawawawawaw

    mommy to chumsys last blog post..What? What? What?