Bento Fun #31

Knowing that Darrius misses his regular Bento meals especially the ones with Soy Sauce Chicken, I decided to do one just for him the other day. This time I experiment with fry quail eggs in capsicums rings.

I sprinkled some nori flakes on the rice but the static from the plastic bento box made it looked a little untidy… oh well! We learn from trials and errors mah!

.

funinabox-31.JPG

Top: Fried quail eggs in cupsicum rings on a bed of rice sprinkled with nori flakes and a piece of Kelsey Plum
Bottom: Pan fried soy sauce chicken drumstick on blached sweet peas and a cupsicum flower

.

Darrius’s eyes sparkled when he sees the chicken drumsticks! I know he missed having it since I stopped cooking this dish when he fell sick. Ended up he did not like the quail eggs in capsicum rings. He only took one. Unlike the hard boiled quail eggs I made earlier which he goggled down in no time.

About Angeleyes

Daily bites of a full time mom searching for a space to rediscover her potentials in her roles as a mom, wife and an entrepreneur.
This entry was posted in @ Moo's Kitchen, Bento Frenzy, Fun in a Box. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Bento Fun #31

  1. Judith says:

    Hey there! Join us for a BBQ buffet at the beach in Penang with watersports activities included this Christmas! Check out my website at http://www.runwiththewave.com Thanks!

  2. 3lilangels says:

    The fried quail eggs in capsicum rings are really creative and pretty. Unfortunately my kids are also refuse to eat capsicum.

    3lilangelss last blog post..Bento # 58 – Inari-zushi

    Darrius also don’t fancy the capsicum done this way… if I cook them in fried rice or pasta… he will sapu all.

  3. laundryamah says:

    wei just curious..does darrius eat the peas & capsicum??

    laundryamahs last blog post..My lil vain pot is 3 years and 4 months old..

    Yes Amah…. Darrius eats them! heehhehee

  4. Allisia says:

    wah… seem like you really enjoying preparing the bento everyday. Yang also will blink his eyes when have drumstick. Oh… Jing too…

    Then u better do bento for them too so they will be eating more!

  5. rachel says:

    His appetite should be slowly coming back..
    no need worry mummy..your bento hard work will be appreciated in no time :p

    rachels last blog post..Lost for Words…Why


    yeah yeah…. he must eat or else I will start my long lecture! 😛

  6. shoppingmum says:

    I’m amazed at how he accepts food like capsicum, even if only one, and peas! BTW, does he eat the lettuce you prepare some times?

    shoppingmums last blog post..A Friend’s Visit


    Yeah, my boy is like sent from heaven hor? 😆 He will eat all of them if I feed him but sometimes when I just shoved him the Bento, he will be quite selective… nevertheless, he will take a bit of this and that which is good enough.

    As for the lettuce on the bento he will normally ignore but if I chopped till tiny and feed him, he will sapu all. 😛

  7. Wah.. good boy, Darrius., for eating capsicum !

    Saw that quail egg in capsicum trick in some Japanese mom’s blog but didnt think it would interest either Kimberly or Ashley. wish they eat like Darrius !!

    But I think credit must go to mummy, isn’t it, for introducing such a great array of food for him till he could accept such a wide variety of food!

    allthingspurples last blog post..Tag !! Little Known Facts About Me

  8. Just read your comment. On the reverse..heehee..Ashley and Kimberly would eat the lettuce. I guess picky kids threw us off our feet sometimes

    allthingspurples last blog post..Tag !! Little Known Facts About Me

  9. Allisia says:

    I did prepare bento everyday for Yang to nursery. As i found out that Yang not enough food in nursery and the food serve not interesting. You know la, like soy milk with toast or biscuit, milo with fried bee hoon… I prepare some fruits or vege, toast in Pooh/hello kitty, star … different shapes to him, sometime rice in Thomas shape…etc. He enjoying it. But still not enough. Babysitter said after returned from school, sure he will ask for rice again, then bath, then nan nan, then only go for nap.
    At home, he used his Bob the Builder plate only. My Jing used Chipmup Plate.

  10. jazzmint says:

    wow..u are really getting good at this