Bento Fun #18

I have been lurking in a lot of Bento sites lately and armed with all my new found ideas I went to get some of the ingredients just solely for Bento packing! I know I am nutz! šŸ˜›

Over the week, I purchase some chicken cocktails (I don’t normally like giving Darrius processed food) just so I can experiment on some of the designs.

I have some ‘mantou’ in the freezer so decided to use one of them as the base so I don’t need other carbo food like rice or bread (afterall, I did not cook rice and I ran out of bread).

.

funinabox-18.JPG

.

In this Bento, you can see chicken cocktails in shapes of octopus, crabs and anemones sitting on chocolate flavored mantou as sea water and cauliflower as corals. Their eyes are cut out from nori and mouths from carrot. Snow peas acted as seaweeds with tiny flowers and fish shaped carrot. Some grapes as dessert.

About Angeleyes

Daily bites of a full time mom searching for a space to rediscover her potentials in her roles as a mom, wife and an entrepreneur.
This entry was posted in @ Moo's Kitchen, Bento Frenzy, Fun in a Box. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Bento Fun #18

  1. Hijackqueen says:

    Wow! I am impressed as how well you present your Bento. So creative of you.

    Hijackqueens last blog post..Incident at the Canon Service Center

  2. shoppingmum says:

    Did you hand cut the sausages or use a sausage cutter? I almost wanted to get one that day…

    shoppingmums last blog post..No Friends Here Afterall

  3. Irene says:

    sememang-nyer cuteeeeeeeee! šŸ™‚

    Irenes last blog post..OMG!

  4. rachel says:

    i wish u r in KL. then when i need to make bento next time..just call u for delivery hahahahaha

    *maybe its a good biz to think about???*

    rachels last blog post..Fever Attack!

  5. Angeleyes says:

    HijackQueen!
    Thanks for your compliment… we all are learning from each other šŸ˜›

    shoppingmum,
    I cut freehand…. I did not get the cutters yet so just testing to see…

    Irene,
    Thanks dear~

    rachel,
    Aiyoh, where got time to sell? šŸ˜†

  6. Ms.____2 be! says:

    Miss eating those mantou, I use to make little sandwiches out of them.

  7. BlurMommy says:

    You are really into bento hor? hehe… Love the bento. It’s very creative. Just a tip about the octopus, I learned this from Hijack Queen. If you put the sausage into boiling water for a few minutes after you cut it, the “tentacles” will curl up more. Try it & see. šŸ™‚

  8. laundryamah says:

    warao!! super nice lor! u major talented leh! i dare not post my bentos leow…*malu* hahahahaha…

    laundryamahs last blog post..Backdated – Singapore 2

  9. Angeleyes says:

    Ms.____2 be!,
    Thanks for giving me some ideas… I’ll try that next time!

    BlurMummy,
    I steam the cocktails together with the mantou to save on gas… hehehe. I find cocktails don’t curl up as much as sausages (the frankfurters).
    Actually I learned a lot of tricks from some of the Pro-Bento makers on the net…. check them out from my blogroll šŸ™‚

    Laundryamah,
    Thanks for the compliment! Actually this one easy only… just throw all the stuff together… no skills needed one.

  10. ooohhh..this is a really pretty bento, Alice. love the colours in the chocolate swirly mantou ! Yea, if you boil after cutting, the tentacles curl up prettily. tried that for my very first bento !

    allthingspurples last blog post..Bento #61, #62, #63,

  11. ai? what happened to my comment? lurve this bento. very pretty. love the swirly choc mantou. yea, boiling makes the tentacles curl nice. did that for my first bento !

    allthingspurples last blog post..Bento #61, #62, #63,

  12. khongfamily says:

    Hey, the eyes and the mouth…how do you make them stick so nicely on the chicken cocktails?

  13. Angeleyes says:

    allthingspurple,
    Yeah, I will try boiling them next time… just wanna test if steaming can do the job! šŸ˜›

    mommykhong,
    The cocktails are wet so the seaweed and carrot just stick by themselves!