Bento Fun #13

I bought a big piece of pumpkin and wanted to steam for Darrius to go with his rice and suddenly thought that I might as well try out my new onigiri molds which I bought from Jusco Bukit Tinggi. It has 4 different shapes; heart, triangle, star and cherry blossom. I mixed the steamed pumpkin with the rice without any seasoning (to save gas I actually placed the pumpkin in the rice cooker when it is about to cook). Incidentally, Darrius was watching his Sesame Street VCD on shapes and color… timing just nice!

funinabox-13.JPG

Top: Pan fried Grouper in soy sauce sprinkled with nori flakes, Fish shaped boiled egg and some cherry tomato halves
Bottom: Pumpkin Onigiri in different shapes with blanched broccoli and cherry tomato halves sitting on a bed of Lettuce

.Β 

Darrius enjoyed this Bento though he kept telling me the eyes and mouth on the Onigiri looked like Awujiak (ghost)…. hehehehe

About Angeleyes

Daily bites of a full time mom searching for a space to rediscover her potentials in her roles as a mom, wife and an entrepreneur.
This entry was posted in @ Moo's Kitchen, Bento Frenzy, Fun in a Box. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to Bento Fun #13

  1. HN says:

    Another pretty bento you have made! I love how you decorated your egg, so funny πŸ˜€

  2. sue says:

    So pretty… how long does Darrius take to finish a meal like this? Maybe I shd do something so that my kids finish their food quickly.

  3. whoisbaby says:

    what do you use for the eyes and mouths decoration?

    whoisbabys last blog post..Aiya … wrong timing lar

  4. PlatinumGirl says:

    I wonder how you decorated the egg, looks so cute leh.

    Btw, does Darrius takes vegetable easily … my son sees anything green and its a No ! I dont want !

  5. Paik Ling says:

    Does it take a long time to prepare the bento stuff?

    Paik Lings last blog post..What Happened?

  6. Angeleyes says:

    HN,
    Thanks! I did not do much with the fish actually… I only slide a small piece of cut tomato for the ‘red’ lips… πŸ˜›

    Sue,
    I can’t remember but I did checked on him a few times… probably around 30-45 mins coz he was watching TV as well… bad habit but no choice! πŸ˜›

    whoisbaby,
    The eyes are nori and the mouths are from the cherry tomatoes.

    Platinumgirl,
    Thank God, Darrius is not fussy when it comes to vege… he eats loads of them but he don’t like them raw that much so I have to either steamed them or blanched them.

    Paik Ling,
    This particular one took me a while as it was my first time using the rice molds… the rice won’t wanna come out! πŸ˜›