A Bookworm’s Tag!

Finally this mama in Xiamen is back in doing some memes.  This time, she is tagging through her book reviews blog and of course the meme is none other than about books!

Honestly, I have not been reading much lately except on some recipes and cake decorating books and magazines. However, I will try to revive my memory on what I have read in the past…

Do you remember how you developed a love for reading?
Eerrr…. no! I started to read (aside from text books) when I was around 9 or 10 when I was introduced to the school library. I was very excited to get my own library card where I can borrow 2 or 3 books each time. I think I started with those short stories. I was a librarian for 2 years.

What are some books you read as a child?

Enid Blyton and some local publications (in Malay). Then I have this Christian teacher who is in charged of the library and she introduced me to some Bible stories… that was when I really hooked! I have to fight with my friends so I can get to read them first! :mrgreen: During my pre-teen years, I read a lot of Sweet Dreams, teenage romance series where I can finish 1-2 books a day!

What is your favourite genre?

I don’t really have any preferences and it changes over the years. When I was younger I will go for those fiction stuff, romance or whatever that strike my fancy during a particular period.

Do you have a favourite novel?
Kaleidoscope and Remembrance by Danielle Steel. I have always like Danielle Steels books. My other favorite is Jackie Collins (Lady Boss), Virginia Andrews (Flowers in the Attic), Jeffrey Archer (Kane and Abel) and Johanna Lindsey (Captive Bride). In fact I re-read some of them last time.

Where do you usually read?
On the bed or the couch. Sometimes when I know I’ll be in the toilet for longer period, I will grab a mag with me… 😛

When do you usually read?
When I get a good book, I read it where ever I am! As long as I have the time regardless of where or when! However, with Darrius now… I hardly have time to chill with a book!

Do you usually have more than one book you are reading at a time?
Not really unless magazines as I don’t like to confused myself with the characters.

Do you read nonfiction in a different way or place than you read fiction?
Nope. Any comfortable place will do

Do you buy most of the books you read, or borrow them, or check them out of the library?
Sometimes I will buy if the price is right especially if I found them in 2nd hand book stores. When I was in Singapore, I will borrow them as the library facilities in Singapore’s is one of the best!

Do you keep most of the books you buy? If not, what do you do with them?
I kept them but my mom threw them away when I’m not around… 😦

If you have children, what are some of the favorite books you have shared with them? Were they some of the same ones you read as a child?
Darrius is still on ABC so I will look forward to the day where I can talk to him about books and authors.

What are you reading now?
I don’t have time to read any of those fiction books now. I spent a lot of money and time in cake decorating books now since I run a cake shoppe… 😛

Do you keep a TBR (to be read) list?
Not really… more like a list of books (cake decorating) I should get!

What’s next?
I’m eying some sugar paste modelling books by Maisie Parrish which I am still contemplating to get. I bought two of her books so far, one with me now and one on the way…

What books would you like to reread?
Actually I prefer if I can get the TV series instead of reading now. I managed to catch some of Danielle Steel’s novels made into TV series which is very addictive!

Who are your favourite authors?
Danielle Steel and I can’t remember some of the other authors’ names.

.

Now, time to tag some bookworms…

  1. Binky  (so glad you’re back in the blog sphere!)
  2. Miche
  3. Stephanie
  4. Sting
  5. Yvonne
  6. Grace

Can’t wait to see what sort of books you ladies read!

About Angeleyes

Daily bites of a full time mom searching for a space to rediscover her potentials in her roles as a mom, wife and an entrepreneur.
This entry was posted in Memes. Bookmark the permalink.

0 Responses to A Bookworm’s Tag!

  1. constance says:

    my first reading materials were comics ~ Beano and Dandy.. then developed into Enid Blyton and those Nancy Drew ones, Mills and Boons, Barbara Cartland, Virginia Andrews and finally Sidney Sheldon… Now I seldom get to read cos hardly have time to finish and my novels are all halfway through and I lose interest..

    constances last blog post..Super Supper

  2. Angeline says:

    Now that this is going round the blog-o-sphere…I hope no one tag me…oh it may turn out blank! I’m hopeless, ain’t I?

    Angelines last blog post..Finally it’s resolved!

  3. sting says:

    ahh… if this tag came to me 10 year ago, I could answer till the cows come home! now..er.. bit embarrassed.. hehe.. many thanks for the tag ya 🙂

    stings last blog post..Zen’s Wand

  4. yvonne says:

    Actually I’m not really a bookworm… esp dislike the ones that requires me to read then pour out during exams. Arrghh hate them!